First Annual Atlanta Toyota Scholars program

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Toyota of Gwinnett and the Gwinnett Chamber of Commerce proudly announce the first annual Atlanta Toyota Scholars program for Gwinnett County Public School seniors and selected teachers.

Atlanta Toyota of Gwinnett, with the cooperation of the Gwinnett Chamber of Commerce, has provided 15, $2,000 scholarships to deserving students in Gwinnett. In addition each student applicant was asked to name a most inspiring Gwinnett County teacher. The 15 teachers named by the student winners will receive a $1,000 check.

Many of these teachers had no idea they had been named and were shocked to hear the news. "I am stunned, can hardly speak, and am fighting tears. Melissa was a wonderful student, and I am so honored to be recognized as her teacher. This is not a phone call most teachers expect," responded Rita Wilhoite, AP literature and composition teacher, Grayson High School.

The students and teachers will be recognized on Thursday, June 19, 2003, at 7 p.m. at the Gwinnett County Board of Education meeting, GCPS Lawrenceville East Building, 723 Hi-Hope Road, Lawrenceville, GA 30046

For additional information, please contact Kelly Herndon, Director, Recruitment and Retention, GCPS, 770-513-6616.

2003 Atlanta Toyota Scholars

2003 Student Winner — School — Inspiring Teacher Named

1. Craft, Allison, Berkmar HS; Alicia Webb

2. Jang, Ji N., Brookwood HS; Patricia Nance

3. Sedgley, Emily T; Central Gw, Melanie McLocklin

4. Williams, Brandi, Collins Hill HS; Shirley Debellis

5. Kolb, Ashley D, Dacula HS; Lesley Buchanan

6. Curry, Jessica, Duluth HS; James B. Reason

7. McLane, Melissa, Grayson HS; Rita Wilhoite

8. Glover, Brandon, Maxwell HS; Dr. Davis Ocran Sr.

9. Feldman, Ellina, Meadowcreek HS; Steve Thompson

10. Momaya, Amit, Norcross HS; Casey Weeks

11. Ussery, Jonathan, North Gw HS; Gregory Marr

12. Bull, Joshua, Parkview HS; Don McChesney

13. Selzer, Cassidy, Phoenix HS; Rhonda Iler

14. Fraser, Lauren, Shiloh HS; Stephen Dartt

15. Seta, Francesca, South Gwinnett; HS Donna Rothell

2003 Selection Committee, Atlanta Toyota Scholarship

1. Nancy Ward, Maxwell HS, Former GCPS Teacher of the Year

2. Dr. Rick Creed, Parkview HS, Former GCPS Teacher of the Year

3. Ernie Blakenship, Grayson HS, Former GCPS Teacher of the Year

4. Dr. Terry Burns, Rock Springs ES, Current GCPS Teacher of the Year

5. Jamie Jones, Snelling Personnel Services, GCPS Parent, Member of Education Committee, Gwinnett Chamber of Commerce

6. Dr. Buddy Parrish, Representing PTSA of Gwinnett

7. Joel Taylor, Mainstreet Bank, Education Committee, Gwinnett Chamber of Commerce

8. Bruce Dunker, GM, Atlanta Toyota

Write A Comment