Four chosen as 2010 Technical Education Students of Year

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Four Gwinnett County Public Schools (GCPS) students who have excelled in technical education courses have been honored as Gwinnett County”s 2010 Technical Education Students of the Year. The four students from Collins Hill High, Mountain View High, Shiloh High, and Maxwell High School of Technology, were selected from a field of high-performing students from all public schools in Gwinnett County, including Buford High (Buford City Schools). The students were honored during an awards banquet on Thursday, February 25, 2010, at the school district”s Instructional Support Center (ISC) in Suwanee.

The 2010 Gwinnett County winners are:

  • Brian Krause of Collins Hill High
  • Ashleigh Rohletter of Mountain View High
  • Brandon Williams of Shiloh High
  • Kaitlyn McLaughlin for her work at Maxwell High School of Technology
    (Kaitlyn attends Dacula High and is enrolled in technical education courses at Maxwell High School of Technology)

The annual recognition, which is a partnership between GCPS, Buford City Schools, and Gwinnett Technical College, also saluted the top technical education student from each local high school.

The top GCPS students are:

  • Alexandra Mois of Archer High
  • Bria Tiana Clark of Berkmar High
  • Michael Joseph Gargiulo of Brookwood High
  • Cynthia Marlene Garcia of Central Gwinnett High
  • Erica Yarbough of Dacula High
  • Vernon Gomes of Duluth High
  • Jasmine N. Gentry of Grayson High
  • Savannah L. Huston for her work at Grayson High Technical Education Program
    (Savannah attends South Gwinnett High and is enrolled in technical education courses at Grayson High Technical Education Program)
  • Linh M. Nguyen of Meadowcreek High
  • Nakia N. Smith of Mill Creek High
  • Garrick Anthony Ewers of Norcross High
  • Aisha S. Yaqoob of North Gwinnett High
  • Brooke Marie Shipley of Parkview High
  • Corneliu Radu Rodila of Peachtree Ridge High
  • Brandon N”Kosi Williams of Shiloh High
  • Nicole M. Varkey of South Gwinnett High

The recognition process began at each local high school with teachers nominating outstanding students in technical education programs. Nominated students then submitted a portfolio to a review committee, which was comprised of Gwinnett Technical College instructors. The four overall winners each received a scholarship in the amount of $500.