Jackson EMC President Announces Retirement

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

randall-pughRandall Pugh, president and CEO of Jackson Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) since 1984, has announced that he will retire from the cooperative on or about March 31, 2014.

“The past 29 years at Jackson EMC have been the most rewarding and satisfying of my career,”# Pugh said.# “Through the dedication, support, and hard work of our employees, we have developed Jackson EMC into the premier member-owned electric cooperative in America, second to none when it comes to customer service excellence, service reliability, competitiveness, corporate ethics and employee dedication.”#

“We feel extraordinarily fortunate to have had a man like Randall Pugh leading this cooperative,”# said Otis Jones, chairman of the Jackson EMC board of directors.# “The knowledge he has amassed in his 45 years in the power industry have enabled him to successfully manage this organization through the challenges of unprecedented growth, technological change and an historic economic downturn, all with the best interests of our members in mind.# He has led this cooperative to achieve national recognition for exemplary customer satisfaction.# He leaves our cooperative strong, financially sound and well prepared for the challenges of the future.”#

Jones added that the Jackson EMC board of directors has appointed a committee to immediately begin the search and selection process for the new President/CEO.
A native of Gwinnett County and graduate of the University of Georgia, Pugh began his career in rural electrification at Walton Electric Membership Corporation in Monroe in 1968, where he held various management positions, serving as general manager from 1977-1984.

Pugh serves on the board of directors of Oglethorpe Power Corporation (OPC), Georgia Systems Operations Corporation (GSOC), and Georgia Department of Economic Development (GDEcD).

He is a past member of the board of trustees of the Gainesville College Foundation, and is a member of the executive board of the Northeast Georgia Council of the Boy Scouts of America, member and past president of the Jackson County Area Chamber of Commerce, member and past president of the Jefferson Rotary Club, and serves as honorary chair of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Jackson County Capital Campaign.

Write A Comment