Connect with us

Thirty-eight Gwinnett County Public Schools (GCPS) teachers and two educators from Buford City Schools will return from their summer break in August and take part in a districtwide leadership development program. The teachers have been selected to be part of Gwinnett’s Teachers as Leaders Class of 2016-2017.

The Teachers as Leaders program is designed to provide teachers with cutting-edge leadership skills that will enhance student learning. The curriculum covers a broad spectrum of leadership principles, providing opportunities for class members to explore leadership skills through a series of retreats and program days that include meeting with community, state, and national leaders who represent both education and business. The program also includes a study group component that encourages discussion about how each program component relates to leadership. The teachers selected for the program will be challenged to expand and extend the pursuit of excellence in the classroom, the educational community, and the community-at-large for the purpose of improved instruction and individual student success.

The 2016-2017 GCPS Teachers as Leaders class:

Vivarine Argilagos Lovin Elementary
Philip Matthew Bemiss Graves Elementary
Rachel Buzzerd GSMST
Rebecca Carlisle North Gwinnett High
Randy Crutchfield Lanier High
Kelley Curtiss Coleman Middle
Angela Dempsey Ivy Creek Elementary
Jessica Dunn Norton Elementary
Mary Eich Corley Elementary
Amy Fleming Buford Academy
Dane Forlenza Crews Middle
Peggy Frandsen Duluth Middle
Kristin Gilligan Berkmar Middle
Ryan Hanik Peachtree Ridge High
Willie Harper Norcross Elementary
Angela Hays Dacula Elementary
Valerie Hepburn Walnut Grove Elementary
Dimitra Hill Dacula High
Amy Jenny Anderson-Livsey Elementary
Nicole Johnson Moore Middle
Suzanne Johnson McConnell Middle
Ebony Jones Nesbit Elementary
Shonda Lesley Jones Middle
Jamilya Mayo Shiloh High
Brittany Mayweather Mulberry Elementary
Karla McLendon Grace Snell Middle
Catherine Newman Fort Daniel Elementary
Jessica Newsome Jenkins Elementary
Amy Obermeyer Riverside Elementary
Kimberley Patterson Dyer Elementary
Elizabeth Raque Mountain Park Elementary
Kelly Riley Sweetwater Middle
Eric Rovie Collins Hill High
Nicole Smith Woodward Mill Elementary
Jennifer Tennant Gwinnett Online Campus
Belinda Terry Partee Elementary
Sarah Tiller Puckett’s Mill Elementary
Laurie Vakili Parsons Elementary
Natalie Wade Buford Academy
Danielle Walcott Peachtree Elementary